GHMC Elections 2020 Mayor Post Reserved for Woman Candidate

GHMC Elections 2020 Mayor Post Reserved for Woman Candidate

Elections to the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) will be held on December 1, the Telangana State Election Commission said on Tuesday.

State Election Commissioner C Parthasarathi said that polling for the 150-member body will be held through ballot papers in view of complaints about functioning of Electronic Voting Machines.
He told a news conference here that the counting of votes will be taken up on December 4.

Post of Mayor:
He also announced that the post of Mayor has been reserved for a woman candidate from the general category. The elections are being held as per the reservation quota of 2016 elections.

The SEC issued a poll notification on Monday while nominations will be received from Tuesday onwards. The process of filing of nominations will continue till November 20.

The seat of the first citizen of Greater Hyderabad has been reserved for woman in the general category. The post of mayor of Greater Hyderabad for a woman will continue for two terms starting with GHMC 2020 elections This reservation was fixed in January 2020 before polls to municipalities and municipal corporations excluding GHMC and and a few other corporations.

Presently, the GHMC mayor’s post is reserved for candidates  from the BC community. Ram Mohan of the ruling TRS is the mayor.

However, the reservation of wards which were fixed in 2016 elections the civic body are being continued for the ghmc 2020 polls too.

Consequently, as the population of Scheduled Tribes and Scheduled Castes is less in Greater Hyderabad, two wards have been reserved for ST candidates including one general and oc for women and 10 for SC candidates with 5 each for general and women respectively. Though the opposition BJP and Congress and various. BC welfare associations were demanding that the reservations for BCs should be enhanced from the present 33.33 percent to 42 percent as there is scope to do it while being well within the overall 50 percent quota cap directive of the Supreme Court, the TRS government has gone ahead with 33.33 percent quota for BCs in GHMC-220 polls too.

74 lakh voters:
As per the draft voters’ lists, the te GHMC has over 74 lakh voters. The final lists of voters at polling station level will be declared on November 21.

There are over 9,000 polling stations but the exact number will be announced later. In view of COVID situation, the SEC has reduced number of polling personnel at each police polling station to four from five earlier.

He said 50,000 to 55,000 polling personnel will be on duty. Employees from various departments and from other districts will be drafted for the poll duties.

Parthasarathi said 25,000 to 30, 000 police personnel will also be deployed.

The term of the present GHMC body will end in February 2021. In the last MC elections in 2016, the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) had scored a landslide victory by winning 99 seats.

It had swept away main opposition Congress and the Telugu Desam Party-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP-TDP) alliance.

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) however withstood the TRS wave in its stronghold of old city to emerge as the second largest party in the MC with 44 seats. However, the massive mandate for TRS deprived the AIMIM a kingmaker’s role, which it historically enjoyed in the municipal body.


hyderabad corporator list
municipal elections in hyderabad
telangana corporate elections
hyderabad municipal election results
districts under ghmc
ghmc map with survey numbers
ghmc election 2020 date
hyderabad corporator list
municipal elections in hyderabad
telangana corporate elections
hyderabad municipal election results

No comments:

Post a Comment

ghmc elections 2020

#ghmc #ghmcelections #ghmcelections2020 #ghmcpolls ghmc elections candidates list ghmc elections #ghmcelections2016 #bjp #trs #AIMIM ghmc #Downloadghmcvoterslip #ghmcpollingstations ghmc election date #ghmcpollingday TRS Party ghmc election results ghmc wards list #ghmcresults ghmc elections 2016 #congressparty Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation ghmc election Campaigning ghmc election counting ghmc election parties #Electiondate #ghmcmayor Ghmc elections candidates list 2016 ghmc election notification #Downloadvoteridcard #ghmcelection2020notification #tdp BJP GHMC ward elections Reservation list TRS Party GHMC Mayor Candidates ghmc election results 2020 ghmc elections 2020 #ghmcpolldayholiday Election Candidates List TDP telangana assembly #INC #ghmcelectionsschedule #ktr MIM TRS Party GHMC Elections ghmc elected corporators 2020 ghmc elections kapra ghmc exit polls telangana assembly seats #BonthuRammohan #ghmcelectionsnotification Asaduddin Owaisi Deleted electors list GHMC Election cherlapally Ghmc elections candidates list 2020 ghmc election winners list ghmc voter slip 2020 live updates ghmc elections telangana trs mla list voter list GHMC Election DR AS RA0 NAGAR GHMC election manifesto KCR KTR Property tax bill online ceo telangana congress ghmc elections 2015 ghmc elections holiday ghmc elections observer list ghmc reelections ghmc repolling ghmc reservations ghmc voter slip 2016 polling percentage revanth reddy telangana news trs manifesto tv9 live v6 news live